What is New


Our Commitment to Safety


You already know many of our product features.In fact, many of them may play a role in your decision to buy our product.However, there is another important product feature that is not as obviousóthe ETL Listed Mark found on many of our products.

Text Box:

The presence of the ETL Listed Mark on our products show that Teca has undergone and passed testing to rigorous industry product safety requirements.Itís an important step in the product cycle because and demonstrates our commitment to the safety and quality of our products.


Is product safety testing mandatory?


Within North America product safety testing is mandatory before entry into the U.S. and Canadian markets. However, the choice in testing partners to conduct the testing is ours. We chose the ETL Listed Mark, provided by Intertek, for a few reasons:


          The ETL Listed Mark is recognized by all Authorities Having Jurisdiction (AHJs) including building code officials, fire marshals, and inspectors across North America;

          The ETL Listed Mark is accepted by all major North American retailers;

          Intertek is recognized by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) as a Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory (NRTL);

          Intertek is accredited by the Standards Council of Canada as an accredited Testing Organization and Certification Body.


Whatís the difference between the ETL Listed and UL Listed Marks?


There is no difference.Both marks indicate that a product meets the minimum requirements of widely accepted product safety standards, determined through independent testing by a Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory (NRTL).


Are manufacturers required to use UL for their compliance testing?


No.Manufacturers have a choice in their testing providers.The only major requirement is that the laboratory performing the testing is an OSHA recognized NRTL.


How can I learn more about the mark?


The ETL Listed Mark is the legal equivalent to the UL and CSA Listed Marks. A product bearing the ETL Listed Mark is determined to have met the minimum requirements of prescribed product safety standards.

Intertek, ETL SEMKO - Product Testing and Certification


How can I learn more about the NRTL Program?


The NRTL Program is part of the Occupational Safety and Health Administrationís directive to ensure products are safe for use in the U.S. workplace.It recognizes the capabilities of private-sector organizations to determine whether a specific product meets safety standards developed by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI), Underwriters Laboratories (UL), and others.




How can I learn more about Intertek and the ETL SEMKO division?


Intertek Group plc is an international testing, inspection and certification organization with laboratories around the world. The ETL SEMKO division of Intertek conducts product safety testing and certification, EMC testing and performance testing for manufacturers of household appliances, HVAC equipment, cables and wiring accessories, industrial machinery, medical devices, lighting, telecom, automotive, semiconductor and building products.